community, public sector

Community councils’ group to hold AGM

West Lothian Association of Community Councils will hold its annual general meeting in Houstoun House, Uphall, on Wednesday, September 14.

The group will report on its work over the past year – including the launch of a new website ( ) to promote the 34 community councils across West Lothian.

The event will start at 7 p.m. Members of the public are welcome.

Anyone interested in attending the AGM should either email:

or call the Association’s messageline on 0870 1642844, leaving the name of those attending and a contact number or email address.

Association chair Helen Taylor said: “This has been a busy – and successful – year for West Lothian Association of Community Councils. We launched a major publicity campaign and website to promote all 34 community councils across West Lothian. We also carried out a number of surveys to gauge the opinions of community councils in the district. In addition we ran training sessions for community councillors.

“With some people stepping down from community councils at this autumn’s elections, we felt it was time to do something special. That’s why choose the lovely surroundings of Houstoun House to hold our annual general meeting.

“We’re indebted to the hotel for helping us organise this event.”

* Community Councils are run by unpaid volunteers from the community. They work to safeguard and promote their area’s best interests – and represent public opinion to the local authority and other government bodies.

Each community council is regularly asked to comment on a range of issues such as: the local environment; local planning applications; drinks (liquor) licensing; local plans; decentralisation of public services; and community planning.

Currently there are 34 across the West Lothian. These cover:

Addiewell/Loganlea, Armadale, Bathgate, Bellsquarry, Blackburn, Blackridge, Bridgend, Broxburn, Dechmont, Dedridge, East Calder & Wilkieston, Ecclesmachan & Threemiletown, Fauldhouse, Howden, Kirknewton, Knightsridge, Ladywell, Linlithgow, Linlithgow Bridge, Longridge, Mid Calder, Murieston, Newton, Philpstoun, Polbeth, Pumpherson, Stoneyburn, Torphichen, Uphall, Uphall Station, West Calder and Harburn, Westfield, Whitburn, and Winchburgh.

However, there is provision for a further eight groups to be formed to ensure that every area of West Lothian has a community council. These would cover:

Breich, Carmondean, Craigshill, Deans, Eliburn, Greenrigg, Livingston Village, and Seafield.

Some of these new community councils are likely to be formed this autumn.

Anyone interested in joining their community council should go along to a meeting (if they have one in their area) and ask for details. Alternatively they can log onto the website at

— ends —-

Please contact Adrian Mahoney at The PR Store
on 01506 823714 or 07967 150560
or email: